Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 10:15am

Three-time GRAMMY winner Darius Rucker will join TV’s fan-favorite music competition series “American Idol” for a special performance on Monday, May21, during part two of the show’s live two-night season finale.
Rucker will sing one of his eight No. 1 country hits, as the finalists – Gabby Barrett, Caleb Lee Hutchinson and Maddie Poppe – compete for the crown. The episode will air live at 9:00 p.m. EDT (delayed at 9:00 p.m. PDT) on ABC, as well as streaming and on demand. 
About Darius Rucker 
Rucker first attained multi-Platinum status in the music industry as the lead singer and rhythm guitarist of GRAMMY award-winning Hootie & the Blowfish. Since releasing his first country album in 2008, he has celebrated four summits to the top of the Billboard Country albums chart and earned a whole new legion of fans. In 2014, Rucker won his third career GRAMMY award for Best Solo Country Performance for his 4x Platinum selling cover of Old Crow Medicine Show’s “Wagon Wheel,” off his album, True Believers. Rucker’s first two country albums, Learn To Live and Charleston, SC 1966 produced five No. 1 singles including “Come Back Song,” “This,” “Alright,” “It Won’t Be Like This For Long,” and “Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It.” Southern Style, his fourth studio country album, features his seventh No. 1 single “Homegrown Honey,” co-written by Rucker, label mate Charles Kelley of Lady Antebellum, and Nathan Chapman. Rucker’s latest album on Capitol Records Nashville, When Was The Last Time, featured the lead single “If I Told You,” his eighth No. 1 on country radio. The album's second single, "For The First Time," is currently Top 5-and-climbing.
About American Idol
Helping America determine who will become the next singing sensation are music industry forces and superstar judges Luke Bryan, Katy Perry and Lionel Richie, with Emmy® Award-winning Ryan Seacrest returning as host. 
“American Idol” is produced by FremantleMedia North America and CORE Media Group’s 19 Entertainment with Trish Kinane serving as showrunner.  Executive producers include FremantleMedia North America’s Trish Kinane and Jennifer Mullin, along with executive producer Phil McIntyre representing CORE Media.