Brandy Clark's Highly Anticipated New Album, Big Day in a Small Town, Available Now

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 10:30am
"When you memorialize human lives with this level of care, you're writing music that's meant to last. Like Clark's protagonists, these songs want to survive. And they will."– Washington Post

Aggressive and big-grinned, sophomore album Big Day in a Small Town sounds fantastic; it’s often a superb piece of recorded music, designed to move people and make them feel things.”  SPIN
“If Clark’s second album covers classic country terrain—broke towns, broken dreams, broken hearts—her bite, bleak humor and blunt strength make her an original. She sweeps through like a cyclone.” People Magazine
The 11 vivid stories on Brandy Clark’s robust follow-up to her magnificent 2013 debut, 12 Stories, will never get old. Music Row songwriting doesn’t get any better.” – US Weekly (4 out of 4 stars)
Big Day in a Small Town just might make her a commercial star even as it chips away at narrow notions of who or what belongs in the country mainstream” - Billboard
“Brandy Clark is, hands down, the best wordsmith in Nashville right now, and she proves it by using old-school country writing on her new CD, Big Day in a Small Town. Even better, all those songs are delivered with a pure country twang that is reminiscent of Tammy Wynette, Loretta Lynn and even Patsy Cline.” The Plain Dealer 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Tuesday, June 14, 2016) – Friday’s release of Big Day in a Small Town marks a big day for CMA Award Winner and four-time GRAMMY nominee Brandy Clark. The critically-acclaimed songwriter steps out with “another album’s worth of incredible storytelling” (Rolling Stone) with the release of her edgy sophomore album that has already garnered numerous rave reviews.
Clark follows the big release with appearances on Late Night with Seth Meyers today, June 14 and Live with Kelly Wednesday, June 15 to perform the new album’s single  “Girl Next Door,” that Billboard says “casts her as a current, edgy artist with a clever wit.”
Big Day in a Small Town, produced by Jay Joyce (Eric Church, Cage the Elephant), takes on her usual every-day-life topics with a new approach. “I didn’t want to try to make the same record,” Clark told Billboard earlier this year. “I'd rather make something that is different. I always want to grow as an artist, and I would rather do that and fall on my face than try to do the same thing and just stay where I am.”
Los Angeles Times’ Randy Lewis was one of many critics that thought her stylistic leap was successful, writing, “Among the appealing characteristic of her songs is her penchant for packing as much illuminating detail as possible into each verse and chorus.” Lewis goes on to add, “Notable too is her ability to extend the momentum of sentiments she’s exploring almost to the breaking point before resolving them.” 
“When fans hear her sing songs from Big Day in a Small Town — music about homecoming queens, financial struggle, family and heart-wrenching loss — it will transport them back to the most poignant parts of home,” shares The Tennessean's Cindy Watts.

Clark describes Big Day as a "cousin" to her critically-acclaimed debut album 12 Stories—an album that was named the best album of 2013 in any genre by New York Magazine’s Jody Rosen, New York Post’s Michaelangelo Matos, NPR’s Ann Powers, and Boston Globe’s Sarah Rodman; was the No. 2 record for Fresh Air’s Ken Tucker; a top 10 choice for Los Angeles Times’ Randall Roberts and The New Yorker’s Sasha Frere-Jones; and among the top five country albums of the year by Rolling Stone, among many other honors.
"We definitely live in a fast-food society, and people sitting down to a whole meal is a rare thing,” Clark said to Los Angeles Times about her new release.  “When someone listens to my record, I want them to think, ‘Boy, that was really worth the 45 minutes I just spent.’”
Big Day in a Small Town Track List - Songwriters:
1. “Soap Opera” - Brandy Clark/Bryan Simpson
2. “Girl Next Door” - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Shane McAnally
3. “Homecoming Queen” - Brandy Clark/Luke Laird/Shane McAnally
4. “Broke” - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Josh Osborne
5. “You Can Come Over” - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Mark Narmore
6. “Love Can Go to Hell” - Brandy Clark/Scott Stepakoff
7. “Big Day In A Small Town” - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Mark D. Sanders
8. “Three Kids No Husband” - Brandy Clark/Lori McKenna
9. “Daughter” - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Jeremy Spillman
10. “Drinkin’ Smokin’ Cheatin’” - Brandy Clark
11. “Since You’ve Gone to Heaven” - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally
Brandy Clark Tour Dates: 
June 18    US 131 Motorsports Park                                                 Detroit, Mich.
June 22    Grand Ole Opry House                                                     Nashville, Tenn.
June 24    Brenton Skating Plaza                                                      Des Moines, Iowa
June 25    The Rave/Eagles Club                                                       Milwaukee, Wis.
July 7       Halloran Centre                                                                 Memphis, Tenn.
July 8       George’s Majestic Lounge                                                 Fayetteville, Ark.
July 14      Pennysaver Amphitheater at Bald Hill                              Selden, N.Y.
July 21      Constellation Brands – Marvin Performing Artst Center  Canandaigua, N.Y.
July 22      Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion                                     Gilford, N.H.
July 23      Forest Hills Stadium                                                          Forest Hills, N.Y.
July 29      Battery Park at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino                       Sioux City, Iowa
July 30      City Winery                                                                        Chicago, Ill.
Aug. 4       Bethel Woods Center for the Arts                                      Bethel, N.Y.
Aug. 5       Blossom Music Center                                                       Cleveland, Ohio
Aug. 12      The Camp House                                                               Chattanooga, Tenn.
Aug. 18      Goldfield Trading Post                                                      Sacramento, Calif.
Aug. 19      Antelope Valley Fairgrounds                                             Lancaster, Calif.
For more information, visit  Follow her on Facebook at and on Twitter @TheBrandyClark.
# # #

Press Contacts:
Ebie McFarland / Kailey Pearce
Essential Broadcast Media /
(615) 327-3259
Wes Vause
Warner Music Nashville